Wednesday, December 14, 2011
Who thinks the US should have socialized healthcare?
the US healthcare system seems pretty screwed up to me, we pay 3X as much other developed nations for our healthcare but its still not all that good, our birthing deaths are 3 times that of countries like japan and sweden and our life expectancy is one of the worst, up to 5 years less, we also have the worst turnouts for many fairly common medical procedures. we say that we have the best medical technology because we have the most mri units, open heart surgery centers, lithotripsy scanning centers, ct scanning centers and cardiac catheterization centers. but socialized countries dont need to have all this equipment because the hospitals aren't competing with each other and if someone needs any of this done you could just send them to a hospital 10 mins away, another thing is hospitals like jefferson healthcare (where my dad works, i get most of this from him) dont have any negotiating power with large insurance or pharmaceutical companies and end up paying $10.00 for a pill that cost $.01 to make, anyways, as you can probably see my view on this is fairly one sided so if you can help me to understand a Conservative standpoint on all of this please do
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
0 comments:
Post a Comment