Monday, December 19, 2011

Does marrying a devout Christian mean marrying someone boring?

I'm a Christian, and most people I know are Christians (yeah, I live in SC) and I'd like to think that we live a pretty normal life. I don't think that you can clify all Christians as being boring, just like you can't clify all Americans as stupid (although, lets face it, it seems like smart Americans are the minority). The church I go to is a Community church, where we have a full band (yes, churches CAN have electric guitars and a drum set) go on a lot of trips (skiing, white water rafting, mountain biking, go to Atlanta), serve the community, and do crazy stuff. Do we go out and get drunk every night, end up in jail, or run a crack house? No. I don't know that I like the word "devout," I mean, if your Christian, you're Christian, there shouldn't be a "devout" group and an "un-devout" group. You serve God, everyday, by following His word, and being a light into the darkness. This doesn't mean preaching on sidewalks, or asking people for money, it means showing everyone, believers and non-believers alike, that you love everyone with a Christ-like love, not being judgmental, and persevering through the hard times because of the faith you have in God that everything happens according to His plan. God is awesome, and definitely not boring. Just read the Bible, and you'll see for yourself. There's college-age kids walking into fire, people rising from the dead, even a message about the end of time. There's a heck of a love story, too, in Song of Solomon. Romance, action, drama, comedy. Its got it all. Long story short...a person is going to be boring no matter what faith (if any) they practice. If the church he goes to is boring, find a different church, one with a younger crowd, and get involved!

0 comments:

Post a Comment